fbpx

Swan Lake to Pirouette Nationwide

As Ballet Ireland celebrates its 21st anniversary, the national ballet company will present their nationwide tour of Swan Lake, in association with EY.

The iconic love story has captivated audiences for decades. It will tour 19 theatres throughout Ireland from Wednesday, November 6 to Sunday, December 22, including dates at Dublin’s Gaiety Theatre from November 13 – 16.

Fashioned from Russian and German folk tales, Swan Lake tells the story of Odette, a beautiful princess, who is turned into a swan by day by evil magician Von Rothbart, only to regain her human form at night. Out hunting by the lakeside, Prince Siegfried encounters her and falls madly in love with her. But will he be able to break Von Rothbart’s spell?

Composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Swan Lake first premiered in 1877 at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow. To this day, its legacy has endured, with the ballet’s tale of love and tragedy; good and evil, as well as Tchaikovsky’s majestic and romantic score, enthralling generations of audiences.

Accompanied by Swan Lake’s already iconic music, organisers say Ballet Ireland’s take on the show will boast classic technique and ethereal imagery. 22 international world class dancers will perform the breath-taking production which was beloved by audiences and critics alike when last produced by Ballet Ireland.

Speaking about the show, Frank O’Keeffe, managing partner of EY Ireland, said in a statement: “EY is delighted to be the official sponsor of Ballet Ireland’s nationwide tour of Swan Lake on the 21st anniversary of the national ballet company.”

“EY global has a long history of supporting the arts. Our corporate purpose is to build a better working world. It’s at the core of all we do and the decisions we make. We are proud to support the arts and to help make world class productions like this more accessible to audiences right around Ireland.”

Tickets are on sale now for the Gaiety Theatre show and cost from €26. They can be bought in person at the Gaiety Theatre box office and at Ticketmaster outlets, over the phone by calling 08 18 719 388 and online by visiting Ticketmaster.ie.

For the full list of dates for the nationwide tour, see below. Prices vary depending on venues. See individual locations for details.

Tour Dates:

Market Place Theatre, Armagh – Wednesday, November 6
Theatre at the Mill, Newtownabbey – Thursday, November 7
The Burnavon, Cookstown – Friday, November 8
Millennium Forum, Derry – Saturday, November 9
The Gaiety Theatre, Dublin – Wednesday, November 13 – Saturday, November 16
Town Hall Theatre, Galway – Monday, November 18 – Tuesday, November 19
Watergate Theatre, Kilkenny – Thursday, November 21
Draíocht, Blanchardstown – Friday, November 22 – Saturday, November 23
Backstage Theatre, Longford – Tuesday, November, 26
National Opera House, Wexford – Friday, November 29
The Source Arts Centre, Thurles – Sunday, December 1
The Civic, Tallaght – Tuesday, December 3 – Wednesday, December 4
Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick – Friday, December 6 – Saturday, December 7
VISUAL, Carlow – Sunday, December 8
Solstice Arts Centre, Navan – Tuesday, December 10 – Wednesday, December 11
glór, Ennis – Thursday, December 12 – Friday, December 13
Siamsa Tíre, Tralee – Saturday, December 14
An Grianán Theatre, Letterkenny – Wednesday, December 18
Mermaid Arts Centre, Bray – Friday, December 20 – Sunday, December 22

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.