In the Summertime | An Irish Gig Guide

Some of the world’s greatest living musical artists are set to grace the Emerald Isle with their presence this summer, performing at venues across Ireland.

In May, alongside three days of gigs from the likes of Deacon Blue, Madness and Primal Scream at Dun Laoghaire Harbour from May 31 – Jun 2 (for more information see here), Dublin’s 3Arena will be hosting a few legendary performers.

May 14 will see influential hip-hop groups Wu-Tang Clan, Public Enemy and De La Soul come together in the venue for Gods of Rap. The tour was set-up to mark the anniversary of each of the bands’ most acclaimed albums – Wu Tang Clan’s Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers), Public Enemy’s It Takes A Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back and De La Soul’s 3 Feet High and Rising.

Promoting her most recent record Caution, global superstar Mariah Carey can also be seen in the 3Arena May 22, followed on May 23 by Irish rock band Walking on Cars. Meanwhile, over in Croke Park May 24, the Spice Girls kick-off their 2019 UK & Ireland Stadium Tour. It’s their first time reuniting on stage since the London 2012 Olympics.

The next month is an even busier time for live music. Canadian crooner Michael Buble will play two nights at the 3Arena June 6 and 7, followed on June 8 by American world-renowned magician David Blaine.

Fans of American rock should also be happy as heavy metal legends Metallica enter Slane Castle also June 8. They will be followed the next week by Bon Jovi, playing two-nights in the RDS June 15 and 16.

Not all the fun is in Dublin. Cork venue Irish Independent Park will also be hosting Irish acts Hozier (June 25), The Coronas (June 22) and Walking on Cars (June 21), as well George Ezra (June 20), Oasis’ Liam Gallagher (June 23) and the Fugees’ Lauryn Hill (June 26). Also, during this time global superstar Lana Del Rey will perform at Malahide Castle June 22.

July kicks off with a bang with the Trinity College Summer Series. While many will be flocking to see the likes of Vampire Weekend (July 1), Foals (July 2), Paul Weller (July 4), Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott (July 5), Stereophonics (July 6) and New Order (July 7), we recommend trying to catch Janelle Monae’s show on July 3. Having released one of the best albums of 2018 with Dirty Computer, her Prince-esque blend of funk, R&B and psychedelic soul should make for a great gig.

The month will also see Irish legends Westlife return to Croke Park on July 5 – 6. The two nights will see the global pop kings celebrating 20 years of hits and playing their 14 number 1 singles.

In August, seek out Love Sensation, an all-new festival taking place at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham, August 17 – 18.  Aimed at the LGBT+ community and their many friends, it will see Lily Allen, Clean Bandit, Gossip and Kelis top the bill across the weekend.

For a more comprehensive list of Irish gigs this summer, see below.

Gig Venue Date
Gods Of Rap 3Arena Tues 14 May
Mariah Carey 3Arena Weds 22 May
Walking On Cars 3Arena Thurs 23 May
Spice Girls Croke Park Fri 24 May
Snow Patrol Ward Park Sat 25 May
Kodaline St. Anne’s Park Fri 31 May
Kodaline St. Anne’s Park Sat 1 Jun
Nile Rodgers & Chic St. Anne’s Park Sun 2 Jun
Deacon Blue Dun Laoghaire Harbour Fri 31 May
Madness Dun Laoghaire Harbour Sat 1 Jun
Primal Scream Dun Laoghaire Harbour Sun 2 Jun
Michael Buble 3Arena Thurs 6 Jun
Michael Buble 3Arena Fri 7 Jun
Snow Patrol Malahide Castle Fri 7 Jun
David Blaine 3Arena Sat 8 Jun
Metallica Slane Castle Sat 8 Jun
The Cure Malahide Castle Sat 8 June
Fleetwood Mac RDS Thurs 13 June
Mumford & Sons Malahide Castle Fri 14 June
Mumford & Sons Malahide Castle Sat 15 June
Bon Jovi RDS Sat 15 June
Bon Jovi RDS Sun 16 June
NGHFB Malahide Castle Sun 16 June
P!nk RDS Tues 18 June
George Ezra Irish Independent Park Thurs 20 June
George Ezra Malahide Castle Fri 21 June
Walking On Cars Irish Independent Park Fri 21 June
Lana Del Rey Malahide Castle Sat 22 June
The Coronas Irish Independent Park Sat 22 June
Liam Gallagher Irish Independent Park Sun 23 June
Hozier Irish Independent Park Tues 25 June
Lauryn Hill Irish Independent Park Weds 26 June
Vampire Weekend Trinity College Mon 1 July
Foals Trinity College Tues 2 July
Janelle Monae Trinity College Weds 3 July
Paul Weller Trinity College Thurs 4 July
Longitude Marlay Park Fri 5 July
Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott Trinity College Fri 5 July
Westlife Croke Park Fri 5 July
Longitude Marlay Park Sat 6 July
Stereophonics Trinity College Sat 6 July
Westlife Croke Park Sat 6 July
Longitude Marlay Park Sun 7 July
New Order Trinity College Sun 7 July
Love Sensation RHK Sat 17 Aug
Love Sensation RHK Sun 18 Aug
Foo Fighters RDS Weds 21 Aug
Post Malone RDS Thurs 22 Aug

 

Comments are closed.